Day 1: Starting off Slow and Spicy

First day of our 28-day Flat Belly Challenge at Egan’s Fit Body Bootcamp! I started the day off with a bang – had my Shakeology (I’ll share more about this in a future post) with some cold drip coffee (strong, lower in acid, and easy to mix with shakes/smoothies) and headed out to Egan’s Slow Burn Monday at 5:30am! Egan is such a great trainer – he knows how to push you just the right amount and there is something about his authoritative yet playful manner that makes you want to do whatever he tells you – even if your ass is on fire!

Egan is a champion and he radiates that energy. He knows fitness, he knows goals, and he knows success. I think it is awesome that he is sharing this with all of us (with the help of his wife Marcia and a killer team of amazing people I might add). I could go on and on, I’ve been drinking the (sugar-free) Bootcamp Kool-aid since I started training with Egan last October. His Bootcamp changed my life in so many ways and I am so grateful to be a part of the Bootcamp ‘ohana. The workouts are fun and effective, the trainers are the bomb (if I do say so myself), and the members are the most wonderful people I’ve ever met! OK, enough Kool-aid…for now.

I did a good job planning and packing my meals today…I was particularly happy with the lunch I packed. Here is a photo:

Spicy Thai Tofu Wrap on Sprouted Grain Tortilla

Just took a sprouted grain tortilla and piled on mixed herb salad, packaged baked tofu (thai flavor), pickled cucumbers, a few spicy pepitas (pumpkin seeds), and a sprinkling of ground flax. I also drizzled a tiny bit of lemon juice and sesame dressing. Diluting dressing with lemon helps bump up the flavor while cutting back on calories! Wrapped it all up and boom!

If you’re wondering where the meat is, don’t look too hard, I’m a PROUD VEGETARIAN and sometimes VEGAN. I have many reasons for my choice and much to say about this, so I’ll save it for a future post. But if you’re dying to get a head start on some reading about vegetarianism and why it’s so rad, you can check out this link to tons of articles on the subject by the brilliant and conscious Kathy Freston: http://www.kathyfreston.com/kathy_freston_blogs_and_articles.html

Got my workout planned for tomorrow morning. We’ll be doing Kimi’s Fast Burn – lots of calorie-torching cardio! Gotta get my playlist ready – it is all about the music when you are trying to get motivated to move fast at 5:30am! For those of you following the challenge and these posts, please feel free to send me your questions or topics you’d like me to cover as we embark on this adventure together over the next month!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bootcamp, Food

Leave a Reply

