Inspiration Friday: My Amazing Bootcamp Ohana

Happy Aloha Friday, Everyone! I dedicate today’s Inspiration Friday post to My Super Awesome Bootcamp Ohana! It is hard for me to believe that I only met Egan Inoue one year ago. In fact, it is almost one year ago to the date. Last year at this time, I was taking Alice Inoue‘s Feng Shui Your Life course. It started on my birthday of last year, September 24, 2010. It was in this life-changing workshop that I met Egan. Alice brought Egan in as a guest speaker to talk to us about Physical well-being and Health. He had just started Egan’s Fit Body Bootcamp on September 1 and he invited our class to come and try it out.

I just pulled out my workbook from last year’s course and on September 25, 2010 I wrote, “Call Egan – Bootcamp Trial”. I started on October 1 and fell in love! Egan, Marcia, and Corrie were so fun, warm, welcoming, and inspiring and the workouts were kick ass!!! But what REALLY hooked me from the first day were the other Bootcampers. Egan’s Bootcamp is like a magnet for the coolest people in the world. I have met the most amazing, conscious, inspiring, HILARIOUS people over the past year. Seriously. Our Bootcampers are quirky, snarky, sassy, funny, fun, and just so darn FULL OF LIFE. This goes for our Trainers too, by the way. Over the past year, Egan’s Staff and Bootcamp Members have truly become my family. I am so grateful, I could cry!

Bootcamp came into my life at a time when I really needed it. And maybe that’s the way for it is for all of us who end up at Egan’s Bootcamp. I have gone through more life changes in this past year than most of you would probably ever guess. I really believe that it was Bootcamp and my strong system of support and friendship there that helped me weather the seas of transition and change without totally LOSING IT. Despite all the challenges and change going on in my life at the time, when Egan and Marcia asked me to become a trainer last year, I followed my heart and said yes…and thank God I did!

Being a Bootcamp Trainer has become a true passion for me. I LOVE getting up at 4:30 in the morning to teach my classes. I love seeing people drip with sweat. I love hearing them groan and complain and then thank me afterwards for a great workout. I love being able to yell at people in a socially appropriate context. I love seeing people’s bodies and lives transform. I love being able to help people reach their goals. I love laughing and sweating and dancing with my classes. I love seeing people taking care of themselves and giving themselves the gift of physical health and wellness. I love seeing my Bootcampers encourage each other and bond. I love the inside jokes we have. I love hearing everyone’s story. I love the camaraderie of shared muscle pain and endorphins. I love it all. We are a bonded, crazy, eclectic, wacky family that shares the values of self-development, personal growth, health, wellness, and friendship – and dammit, it is a beautiful thing.

Today in our 5:30am class, the gang surprised me with hilarious gifts, thoughtful goodies, and so much sincere kindness and love it brought tears to my eyes. I am overwhelmed by the love and appreciation that I feel for My Bootcamp Ohana. I am happier than I have ever been and there is no doubt in my mind that much of this has to do with this amazing family that has come into my life. Thank you Alice for introducing me to Egan. Thank you Egan, Marcia, and Corrie for all that you do and for letting me be a part of something so awesome. Thank you fellow trainers for your inspiration, support, and friendship.

And to our Bootcampers – I love you – thank you for inspiring me everyday. Being your trainer is the BEST JOB EVER! Now, drop and give me 36 burpees for my birthday! No make that 37 – one for good luck!

 

"Healthy Birthday Lei" from my Bootcampers - filled with Think Thin bars, Quinoa, etc. LOL! Too cute!

2 Comments

Filed under Bootcamp, Inspiration

2 responses to “Inspiration Friday: My Amazing Bootcamp Ohana

  1. Amazing post, amazing blog. Reading it inspires me. I’m so glad to have found the FitBody Bootcamp, even if I don’t lose a single pound I think I’ve already gained a lifetime of inspiration.

  2. You inspire us sister!!!! I am SO PROUD OF YOU and all you have done in one year. We all look forward to seeing you in the mornings. We love you!!!!

Leave a Reply

