Hey, Coffee…We Need to Talk.

 
Dear Coffee,
 
I don’t know how to say this, so I’m going to just say it – we need to take a little break. I know we have a lot of fun together and I really love you, but on Monday I am participating in Egan’s Fit Body Bootcamp’s 4-week Body Burn and part of the deal is that I can’t see you. I know that sounds harsh, but this is important to me and it’s only four weeks.
 
I know you don’t mean to be, but you can be really toxic and you’ve certainly given me some sleepless nights. And the more time I spend with you, the more of you I want and need. I don’t like feeling that kind of dependency. I need to know that I can handle my life on my own. I appreciate that you’ve gotten me through some really hard times, but I need to learn to be strong on my own.
 
I’m not blaming anything on you, but sometimes when we start the day together, I feel irritable and my body just feels “off”. Maybe it’s not you, but how will I ever know if I don’t take a break from this relationship. We have to trust that if we are meant to be together, we will find our way back to each other.
 
I want you to know, it’s not just you. This goes for alcohol and sugar too. But you are my special love. Let’s make the most of these last few days we have together and then reassess our relationship in a month when I am healthier, stronger, and more balanced.
 
Love always,
 
Kimi
 
6 Comments

Filed under Bootcamp, Inspiration

6 responses to “Hey, Coffee…We Need to Talk.

  1. suestopford

    I have just quit smoking and 6 weeks ago gave up alcohol too but can’t bring myself to get rid of coffee too :). 2012 is all about health and fitness for me as I have finally realised how precious our bodies are. Your blog is awesome…..

    • Camp Kimi

      Way to go suestopford! 🙂 I think it makes sense to make BIG life changes in stages…we can get overwhelmed if we try to change everything all at once and often set ourselves up for failure with “all or nothing” thinking…every healthy challenge you overcome will empower you to take your health to the next level. I think that the true secret to health and wellness is not discovering the holy grail of fitness or diets, it’s actually learning to enjoy the ongoing challenge to become a healthier version of ourselves everyday. Keep up the great work and here’s to 2012 and beyond! 🙂

      • suestopford

        the smoking is challenging…

        my daughter has left home and i am starting study as well so things are a wee bit all over the place. need to get into a routine. any ideas?

      • Camp Kimi

        Sue – when things get all over the place, best you can do is to take some time to plan things out. Plan your meals, plan your snacks, plan your workouts…basically schedule YOURSELF into your calendar! Slow down each day to breathe, mediate, journal, or think…and get some support as well…when things get tough, don’t be afraid to seek out help from others who will keep you accountable and help give you the support you need to push thought. Keep up the great work! You can do it!

  2. I just love this letter to your friend Coffee because I have a friend name Coffee too. Wonder, if it’s the same Coffee that we are talking about. What a small world if it is the same Coffee… 🙂

    Damn Coffee, I was just about to break it off with Coffee too a few days ago. I need him more than he needs me – i’m just needy like that! lol.

    Kimi,

    Your letter is so funny and so true. You were very nice in letting him down. He’ll forgive you. I am doing a Hana 45- day challenge – with a mixture of Canoe Paddling and Land workouts! You might not be able to recognize me in my next profile picture, hahaha…Jus kidding… Great letter…just had to reply. Back to facebook now… Aloha

    • Camp Kimi

      LOL! You are so funny, Keala! I’ve gone almost 10 days without coffee and I do miss it, but not as much as I thought I would…I do miss the BUZZ, but at least I’m feeling a lot less fuzzy headed than I was last week!

Leave a Reply

