New Year’s Revolution!

Image

Congratulations on saying YES to taking your awesomeness to the next level!

This was the first week of our Egan’s Fit Body Bootcamp New Year’s Revolution Challenge. And in a beautiful surge of awesomeness, our Team Awesome Boomtastic 2013 Challenge and Egan’s New Year’s Revolution Challenge have merged into one glorious clean-eating, strength-building, team-bonding, amazeballs challenge.

In the past week, Team Awesome has grown to over 75 people! Not just people, may I add, but the most amazing, supportive, inspiring, funny, fun, focused, kickass bunch of crazies I’ve ever met! In fact, not a day goes by that I don’t marvel at the incredible people that I have met through Egan’s Fit Body Bootcamp. There is something magic about Egan’s…something indescribable…something that brings the most amazing and inspiring people through those doors. No question about it – our Bootcamp ohana is super special!!!!!

As we head into our second week of our official New Year’s Revolution Challenge, my challenge to you is to take a good hard look at the STORIES you have been telling yourself up to this point. One of the biggest obstacles in reaching our goals can be the stories that we cling to about why we aren’t living the life of our dreams yet. Unconsciously or out of habit, we tell ourselves and the people around us all kinds of stories about who we are…do any of these sound familiar?

I just can’t lose this baby weight. 
It’s been really hard to lose weight since menopause.
No matter what I do, I can’t lose weight.
I have bad knees.
I hate working out. 
I’m lazy.
I’m broke.
I’m super busy. 
It’s really hard, because I have _______ (insert any illness). 
I’m not young anymore. 
My metabolism just isn’t what it used to be.
I lose weight, but then I always gain it back.
I’m not a morning person.
I just don’t like the taste of healthy food.
I don’t have that much support. 

And so on. We tell ourselves stories all the time and perhaps we aren’t even aware of the stories we are telling. Once we do become aware, our first instinct might be to judge ourselves for saying things that might be holding us back. Consider that there is nothing wrong with the things we’ve been saying, these stories have been serving us thus far. But today, we can ask ourselves if the stories we are telling are serving us NOW and  if they are helping us become who we want to be.

How radical and awesome would it be to replace all those old stories that aren’t serving you with new inspiring stories that lift you up and energize you! I can hear some of you saying, “but my stories are TRUE!” OK, but do those stories make you feel in control of your life and your future? Take your power back by trying on some new stories and seeing how they feel…

What story FEELS better to you:

“I have a hard time losing weight.” OR “I’m making my health a priority!”

“I don’t have time to exercise.” OR “I make time to exercise!”

“I hate working out.” OR “I’m learning to love burpees!”

“Change is hard for me.” OR “I love change!”

Can you feel the difference in your energy as you choose to tell stories that support your health and fitness goals? I know it can be uncomfortable to let go of the stuff we’ve said and believed for so long. Be easy on yourself through this process. Just observe, with gentleness, what stories you are telling yourself and others. Ask your accountability partner or friends/family to help you. Ask them to lovingly point out to you when you are telling a story that may not serve your highest good. Lean into changing your stories gently, one at a time, and have fun with it!

This week, When you hear yourself tell a story…try some delicious OATS

  1. Observe – “Hmmmm, that’s interesting.”
  2. Ask – “Is that true? Does it have to be? Do I want it to be?”
  3. Think – Is this story serving your goals and your highest good? What do you wish your story was?
  4. Substitute – Take your power back by picking an awesome new story to tell yourself (even if you don’t believe it yet – fake it ’til you make it! Try it on for fun!)

Keep up the great work, everyone!!! From here on out, I’m counting down the weeks of the New Year’s Revolution Challenge because it is easier and less confusing for all of our Egan’s Fit Body Bootcamp members, so WEEK 2, here we come!!!!!!! Ba-boom!

Drop me a line in the comments to let me know how you’re doing and what you think about the stories we tell ourselves and le me know what you think of those OATS! 🙂 XOXO

Leave a comment

Filed under Bootcamp, Inspiration, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

